LOTRO: U13 EASIEST EASIER EASY HARD HARDER HARDEST

22 Apr

7daysgone2

‘More pity that the eagle should be mew’d,
While kites and buzzards prey at liberty.’

William Shakespeare, Richard III

7 days after Update 13 arrived

The biggest talking point has been Challenge/Difficulty

I like a challenge and I like having to work for good equipment and grind virtues and finally learn which combination of skills are needed to progress, after HD arrived it was irrelevant…nice new trees but skills they gave had no effect on gameplay. Progress became almost automatic.

Since U13 I have found myself having to use skills correctly and using more of my skills…even on my Champ I need to use his HoT skill occasionally to keep the slaughter flowing, running Taradans for Brood killing at lv23-25 and I have really noticed that I get close to bottoming out morale and need to hold back with pulling more spids.

SQUISHY questions is ongoing on FORUMS as casual vs Hardcore vs 95ers heats up…but as well all know FORUMS are NOT the true picture of the game…also heated discussion on LOTRO PLAYERS NEWS aptly named Difficult Discusion

I believe and will stand by this even most casual LOTRO player will prefer a more demanding game to one that is a simple case of button mash to progress. It is simply less tiring on the fingers in the end!

Where TURBINE is struggling is to introduce a balanced difficulty throughout the game, the difficulty is too ‘ALL OVER THE PLACE’ for classes, areas and levels…inconsistency is a killer.

Other U13 Stuff

Flexi bags are great and I am finally getting used to a new set up…big bag for junk, 1 bag for healing stuff left open …like an extra tool bar, 1 for crafting stuff and 1 for buff stuff!

In game post …keep forgetting to try out in the landscape…up to 10 items just makes life so much easier! Now when will AH work this out and return not sold stuff in one mail!

Have yet to explore new areas…my new champ will be heading to North Downs soon(ish)

Overall am really enjoying LOTRO and simply want more time to play

‘To die, to sleep –
To sleep, perchance to dream – ay, there’s the rub,
For in this sleep of death what dreams may come…’

William Shakespeare, Hamlet

2 Responses to “LOTRO: U13 EASIEST EASIER EASY HARD HARDER HARDEST”

  1. Telwyn April 23, 2014 at 05:23 #

    You beat me too it, I have a post queued for tomorrow on LOTRO 😉

    I agree with your assessment from my very casual perspective the game is better now, combat is actually more interesting. I’m a bit concerned about the threads on just how squishy characters have become in mounted combat, I lack practice and am pretty bad at that so far and I was killed on my first attempt post U13 by a mounted Uruk as the forum posts describe…

    • tsuhelm April 23, 2014 at 07:07 #

      I’m interested in your take on the subject 🙂

      I have yet to get to mounted combat, not looking forward to it…

Leave a Reply

