LOTRO: RP Sillyness! [GW2!!!]

9 Jun

I have actually enjoyed casual RP in LOTRO a couple of times…my longest RP exchange was via letters to an Armourer on the Landy Captain Tsudryt would send an in character mail requesting armour and or equipment and the armourer would send an in character reply. Me myself and I have taken a pause from Landy, and I think Tsudryt’s Armourer as well…

Also have Opopa, a one legged hobbit burglar, hopping around Laurelin THE RP SERVER…avoiding all RP interaction so far…and see enough of other players that would indicate that most of the time other players do the same. Really…the end of ME is at hand…surely your adventurer should not return to Bree to pick flowers!

Head Burro has an issue with a RP guild in denial of the Living World stories in GW2…

Kind of reminded me of a certain famous comedy sketch from a certain group of British comedians…

* see bottom of blog not parrot for link to the likely creator of this graphic...I nicked it from his website...

* see bottom of blog, not parrot, for link to the likely creator of this graphic…I nicked it from his website!

MR. PRALINE – John Cleese

SHOP OWNER – Michael Palin

Mr. Praline: Never mind that, my lad. I wish to complain about this story what I purchased not half an hour ago from this very boutique.

Owner: Oh yes, the, uh, the Living World…What’s,uh…What’s wrong with it?

Mr. Praline: I’ll tell you what’s wrong with it, my lad. Its dead, that’s what’s wrong with it!

Owner: No, no, Its uh,…its resting.

Mr. Praline: Look, matey, I know a dead story when I see one, and I’m looking at one right now.

Owner: No no its not dead, its, its restin’! Remarkable story, the Living World, idn’it, ay? Beautiful storyline!

Mr. Praline: The storyline don’t enter into it. It’s stone dead.

Owner: Nononono, no, no! Its resting!

Mr. Praline: Now that’s what I call a dead story.

Owner: No, no…..No, Its stunned!

Mr. Praline: STUNNED?!?

Owner: Yeah! You stunned it, just as it was wakin’ up! Living Worlds stun easily, major.

Mr. Praline: Um…now look…now look, mate, I’ve definitely ‘ad enough of this. That story is definitely deceased, and when I purchased it not ‘alf an hour ago, you assured me that its total lack of movement was due to it bein’ tired and shagged out following a prolonged chapter.

Owner: Well, its…its, ah…probably pining.

Mr. Praline: PININ’ ?!?!?!? What kind of talk is that?, look, why did it fall flat on his back the moment I got ‘im home?

Owner: The Living World prefers keepin’ on it’s back! Remarkable story, id’nit, squire? Lovely wordage!

Mr. Praline: Look, I took the liberty of examining that story when I got it home, and I discovered the only reason that it had been standing in the first place was that it had been NAILED there.

(pause)

Owner: Well, o’course it was nailed there! If I hadn’t nailed that story down, it would have twisted reality, bent the game-world apart, and VOOM! Feeweeweewee!

Mr. Praline: “VOOM”?!? Mate, this story wouldn’t “voom” if you put four million volts through it! ‘Its bleedin’ demised!

Owner: No no! ‘Its pining!

Mr. Praline: Its not pinin’! Its passed on! This story is no more! He has ceased to be! Its expired and gone to meet ‘is maker! Its a stiff! Bereft of life, ‘e rests in peace! If you hadn’t nailed it to the perch ‘it’d be pushing up the daisies! ‘Is metabolic processes are now ‘istory! Its off the twig! Its kicked the bucket, Its shuffled off ‘is mortal coil, run down the curtain and joined the bleedin’ choir invisible!! THIS IS AN EX-STORY!!

(pause)

Owner: Well, I’d better replace it, then. (he takes a quick peek behind the counter) Sorry squire, I’ve had a look ’round the back of the shop, and uh, we’re right out of other stories.

Mr. Praline: I see. I see, I get the picture.

Owner: (pause) I got a slug.

(pause)

Mr. Praline: Pray, does it talk?

Owner: Nnnnot really.

Mr. Praline: WELL IT’S HARDLY A BLOODY REPLACEMENT, IS IT?!!???!!?

Owner: N-no, I guess not. (gets ashamed, looks at his feet)

Mr. Praline: Well.

(pause)

Owner: (quietly) D’you…. d’you want to come back to my place?

Mr. Praline: (looks around) Yeah, all right, sure.

 

Living World

‘The Living World in Guild Wars 2 is ArenaNet’s official term for changes to the game intended to bring the world of Guild Wars 2 to life. Each major game update includes NPCs, events, and sometimes new instances that tell the story of Tyria’s ongoing evolution. Although most of the Living World content has been temporary, these updates also have included permanent changes to the in-game world.’

So what is the point of RP’ing in a world that has been changed and denying it, Lion’s Arch was destroyed in a living world story.

RP…No its not…

GAMER: Yes it IS!

RP’er: No its not… we just need to RP it….

Called stretching imagination a wee bit too far!

Living World is a Dead World to some…

But denying the Living for the imagined past will lead to deadeningly complicated  gaming.

 

*Stephen J. Fulhum: website

7 Responses to “LOTRO: RP Sillyness! [GW2!!!]”

  1. HeadBurro Antfarm June 10, 2014 at 08:45 #

    LOL! An amazing post! I would never have thought to marry up the two but it works perfectly! To be fair the RPers don’t ignore the living world story, just just don’t like it and tend to engage only slightly or in tangential ways, but that sketch sums up exactly how the community (some of it, at least) has reacted to season 1.

    I’ll re-blog this, if you don’t mind 🙂

  2. HeadBurro Antfarm June 10, 2014 at 13:51 #

    Reblogged this on Blog de ​​la Burro and commented:
    This is Tsuhelm’s brilliantly funny rift on my post about how difficult guilds can be – read this and tell me it’s not genius 😀 Then follow his blog too 🙂

  3. fogwoman June 18, 2014 at 02:10 #

    I have to admit being able to sy,mpathize a wee bit after WoW exploded one of the most beautiful game settings I have seen. But it does advance the story. And make you want to kill the bad guy even more than before! Hang Garrosh, drown him, light him on fire, grind the remaining ashes, ingest them and then shit them into a pool of lava. To be precise.

    • tsuhelm June 23, 2014 at 07:01 #

      strong sentiment…not had an episode of this in LOTRO yet…lets see what the future brings…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. LOTRO: Fork In 50… | tsuhelm - June 13, 2014

    […] Burro featured me this week (RP dead parrot found in GW2) so I will give him a nod as well […]

  2. LOTRO: Monty Python Yule Festival Ending? | tsuhelm - January 15, 2015

    […] Asks, “Ello, this where I can complain about dead parrots?” […]

Leave a Reply

