LOTRO: The Prof!

28 Jan

LOTRO PROF

This week The Tolkien Professor was a guest on LOTRO Player News: No Hobbit Cemeteries.

I have heard his named bandied about but this was the first time I had actually heard what he had to say and boy he knows his stuff. As I commented on the show I think that having a personality like this associated with LOTRO can only be a good thing.

I found his blog: Tolkien Professor, lots of links, including to his Mythgard project: Monday nights on LANDROVAL in which he will be endeavoring to teach The Lord Of The Rings lore to LOTRO players in game, will try to get there for that!

I also put another shout out for a translation of ‘Latu gadhumúrz bagu!’…I am still non the wiser in regards to this Orc uttered descriptive phrase.

And I found a few other LOTRO and MMO blogs of interest this week, some I have been following longer than others but all are deserving of a look:

TWEAKLOTRO:

Lots of tweaking with LOTRO…really good advices to be found here!

BATTLE PRIESTESS:

My blog is on the blog roll 🙂 Good casual LOTRO site.

PARTY BUSINESS

A real MMO MIX!

Avaruussuo (Is this Finnish?I wonder what it means?)

Photography and games…the LOTRO screenshots are simply STUNNING!

Wandering Tales

Very colourful tales of Astrandir & Aureliae.

Hikers Guide to LOTRO

As it says in the title Hikers Guide to LOTRO… great stuff, now RP’ing on Landy 🙂

Hardcore Casual

Great and very thorough MMO site some LOTRO news, I discovered the blog when he posted the ‘LOTRO you’ll never see Mordor post’…

 

10 Responses to “LOTRO: The Prof!”

  1. Moxie January 28, 2015 at 12:34 #

    I used to listen to the Tolkien Professors podcasts, you’re right, he DOES know his stuff. He’s also able to take about Tolkien in a very approachable manner, making concepts that might be difficult very easy to understand. I hadn’t heard of Myth gard Mondays but I stumbled across them in the Shire this past Monday and promptly added one of my alts to their kin. The lore is my favorite thing about the game, so it’s a good fit. 🙂

    Thank you for the shutout and link love as well!! 🙂

    • tsuhelm January 28, 2015 at 12:53 #

      The prof has Moxies’s Blessing 🙂

  2. Moxie January 28, 2015 at 12:36 #

    shoutout, that is. silly phone commenting. 🙂

  3. Telwyn January 28, 2015 at 17:59 #

    Awesome, my Cluedo loving husband approves!

  4. Jussi Laasonen January 29, 2015 at 15:51 #

    Thank you for featuring my blog along the other great sites. The name Avaruussuo is indeed Finnish but without real meaning. It is a slight word play on the suburb, Varissuo (crow swamp), where I used to live. One of my friends once called it Avaruussuo, because it sounds similar and the name stuck. Literal translation would be space swamp.

    • tsuhelm January 29, 2015 at 15:57 #

      I love the explanation of Avaruusuo 🙂

  5. kunzay January 29, 2015 at 18:10 #

    Hey, thanks for including my blog in this list! An MMO-Mix indeed…thanks for reminding me 😉

    Also, do you have two blogs? The one i found when clicking your profile is another one.

    • tsuhelm January 30, 2015 at 06:59 #

      Will have to check it out! Maybe my DoT site pops up first…or my Art of LOTR… I suppose not my Anachistic Arty Farty blog that has a different user! 🙂

    • tsuhelm January 30, 2015 at 07:02 #

      OK I have updated my profile…hope the issue is fixed 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. LOTRO: BLOG LANDY? | tsuhelm - January 28, 2015

    […] noticed that many bloggers are playing LOTRO on LANDY… (some have recently moved to LANDY!) The Tolkien Prof is giving classes on […]

Leave a Reply

