LOTRO: Bore da! Bori? Good?

29 Jan

Hovercraft

I rescued Bori (kind of!) and I am happy to report he is doing good!

But then there was a huge click in my head and suddenly I accessed my limited Welsh language abilities, being half-welsh, I have my Dad to thank for that, he was Pontarddulais born (lit. bridge on the Dulais[black stream])

And wow! Bori is almost Bore which is ‘morning’ and I had ‘Bore da’ and ‘Nos da’ drummed into me as a kid…but that is as far as I got…more is the pity!

Bore daGood morning
Ddiwrnod daGood day
Nos daGood night
Prynhawn daGood afternoon
Noswaith da Good evening

I obviously did a little further research online and was happy to find this great page: OMNIGLOT.com and that has a Monty Python inspired surreal page devoted to My hovercraft is full of eels

Mae fy hofrenfad yn llawn llyswennod

and in the other 2 languages I am familiar with:

Mi aerodeslizador está lleno de anguilas (Spanish)
Mit luftpudefartøj er fyldt med ål (Danish)

And the original Monty Python sketch: HERE

Oh and a further LOTR link up, young eels are called ‘elver’!

Picture stolen and abused from:
http://www.pressherald.com/2014/04/17/closely_watched_maine_elver_season_marked_by_slow_start__low_prices_/
Leave a Reply

