LOTRO BLOG VACATION: DAY 6, London

20 Feb

Tsuhelm is on his hols 🙂

He is not but would like to be in London!

bigbenLONDON

‘London is the capital city of England and the United Kingdom. It is the most populous city in the United Kingdom, with a metropolitan area of over 13 million inhabitants. Standing on the River Thames, London has been a major settlement for two millennia, its history going back to its founding by the Romans, who named it Londinium.’

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/London

I love London but would never want to live there (but I also live by the idiom of ‘never say never‘. Not to be confused with the Never say Never Again Bond movie where Sean Connery played Bond after saying 12 years previously he would never again do so!)

I have been coming here to visit family friends since I was 2, London is a small part of my soul, teeny tiny compared to York but still present. I first got into Comics here, I encountered paper n pen RPGs here, I first played ELITE here and I first listened to PWEI’s ‘Def Con One’ here… All of these shaped the me of today.

When I come back to London I always end up in the same Tottenham Court Road area, almost Soho, for the Comic shops I used to hunt down solo in my early teens, which required me getting used to the underground, the TUBE, from an early age and it amazes me at those tender ages I could roam freely into LONDON. As I got older my explorations increased and I used to use my day card extensively popping up and down all over London. Now I head to Tottenham Court Road Tube station and wander over land into Soho, I may still pop into any comic shop but have added a string of pubs, Asian food stores, Japanese toy shops, design shops and various other small shops that have popped up that look ever so slightly interesting. Always exciting :).

If I am meeting friends I will pop over to Kings Cross, or Camden, Brixton or Canary Wharf! My family friends are still around Enfield, in North London, Southgate and Winchmore Hill are visited for the nostalgia, Walthamstow as well. Also have an Old Uni pal in South London that I have not met in years.

I can wander London and find something new everytime. Whether its a nice cafe, bar or restaurant to nourish oneself or a shop selling books, tshirts or designer nik naks (knick-knacks) to offload some pennies in… there is always something new in London.

For such a heavy drinker from my twenties (I have since calmed down…) I never did find a PUB in London to call home and most that I tried to frequent more than once closed or moved away (sometimes I simply couldn’t find em again!) wherever I sat down I always found fun company another aspect of London that I love. Londoners, a broad term including all the diverse ethnicities and peoples of all origins, yet another wonder is this cosmopolitan aspect of Life in London. Londorners are social creatures used to strangers, so it doesn’t matter what accent you speak with or your level of English and sometimes even what language you speak.

I do keep meaning to take my wife to Bradley’s Spanish Bar, its also near to Tottenham Coart Road tube…

Forbidden Plant the comic and SF/fantasy memorabilia place also should be visited, if you can find it, it moves from time to time.

Ronnie Scotts Jazz Club for late night music and relaxing drinking, try and get a table!

Korea town in New Malden is definitely worth a visit, if you want GOOD bulgogi and bekseju!

Down by the Thames its always worth popping into the Tate Modern: just to experience the vastness of the Engine Room.

‘It is the most-visited modern art gallery in the world, with around 4.7 million visitors per year. It is based in the former Bankside Power Station.’

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tate_Modern

Then wander to Parliament and of course BIG BEN…

‘The tower is officially known as the Elizabeth Tower, renamed as such to celebrate the Diamond Jubilee of Elizabeth II (prior to being renamed in 2012 it was known as simply “Clock Tower”)’

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Big_Ben

I cant forget the following old joke:

‘My cousins gay, he went to London only to find out that Big Ben was a clock.’

Well whatever your reason for visiting LONDON you will surely find something to like.

Leave a Reply

