LOTRO: My Little (WAR) Pony, 1/3

20 Mar

Tsukuld arrived to into Rohan by using a mithril coin to jump to first NPC in the WOLD quest chain…I otherwise would have had no idea of how to get there! So a wolding Tsukuld will go…and after that he will get his war pony!

Never seen before loading screen...NICE!

Never seen before loading screen…NICE!

I message recived that I dont own the AREA...Wait this is Great River not ROHAN...phew!

I message recieved that I don’t own the AREA…Wait this is Great River not ROHAN…phew!

A windmill, I have gone all Don Quixotic!

A windmill, I have gone all Don Quixotic!

ScreenShot00038

My first NPC in WOLD quests…like the leaping horse house end!

ScreenShot00042

Respect Thane, Tsukuld is cool and always sit on your table…

Respect to wifey (of course!)

Respect to wifey (of course!)

Milestones are also nice in Rohan!

Milestones are also nice in Rohan!

ScreenShot00048

I sense some salamander killing coming soon…

ScreenShot00049

This game was IRRITATING!

Rohan is very pretty (am playing in very hi res graphics but may need to drop back to a lower setting if and when I get my war pony.)and its nice to be earning XP again, I already found the LI relic forger and deconstructor, essential under the circumstances. I can tell that my MisDeeds adventures have had a softening effect on my gameplay, where I wander carelessly into encounters…the pretty flora that hides some mobs does not help, in ROHAN this is decidedly dangerous, I am going to have to get cautious again.

It is very early days and am dissapointed to realise that I am still a quest chain away from getting my War pony, maybe only a 1/3 of the way!

0.3333333… (recurring) decimal representations of numbers can be tricky

But I quite like the following explanation of the difficulties they can generate:

‘Decimal numbers can be represented exactly, if you have enough space – just not by floating binary point numbers. If you use a floating decimal point type (e.g. System.Decimal in .NET) then plenty of values which can’t be represented exactly in binary floating point can be exactly represented.

Let’s look at it another way – in base 10 which you’re likely to be comfortable with, you can’t express 1/3 exactly. It’s 0.3333333… (recurring). The reason you can’t represent 0.1 as a binary floating point number is for exactly the same reason. You can represent 3, and 9, and 27 exactly – but not 1/3, 1/9 or 1/27.

The problem is that 3 is a prime number which isn’t a factor of 10. That’s not an issue when you want to multiply a number by 3: you can always multiply by an integer without running into problems. But when you divide by a number which is prime and isn’t a factor of your base, you can run into trouble (and will do so if you try to divide 1 by that number).

Although 0.1 is usually used as the simplest example of an exact decimal number which can’t be represented exactly in binary floating point, arguably 0.2 is a simpler example as it’s 1/5 – and 5 is the prime that causes problems between decimal and binary.’

Jon Skeet

Maths is tricky… Rohan is pretty and my Little War Pony run is only one third of the first part done.

Leave a Reply

