LOTRO: Hobbit Poppin Only!

8 Jun

My new gaming regime is suffering immensely, the stresses and strains of RW and family life, in fact I find my work more flexible in regards to my blogging needs than my wife and kids are to my gaming needs. Instead of my old 13.5 hrs ish of gaming a week I just had a week of about 7 hours!

So having just started to wet my toes into deeply immersive EVE Online I am left with negative playtime for LOTRO and this is a shame as I am finding out that I love both games (at least so far) and they provide different rewards.

EVE is only winning as it has a 30 day free trial period that is slowly ticking away…indeed after technical issues to begin with and RW family time I think I am halfway through the free time with only 5 days of limited gaming!

During this period I have popped into LOTRO for free hobbit presents and to say hi to kinnies…

LOTRO is obviously a game I ‘know’ and can jump straight into, whereas EVE is at the moment, and as I keep discovering, a bottomless hole of stuff to learn. The LOTRO reward is obvious and almost immediate and the EVE reward is in slow, sometimes painful, realizations and occasional ‘Eureka’ moments. After 5 days in EVE I have yet to finish the tutorial and I have been known to complain of LOTRO’s tutorial and starter area which can be blasted through within an hour at most!

I will be back in LOTRO sooner rather than later, the breath of fresh air or more appropriately the emptiness of vacuum, is reinforcing my love of LOTRO.

So Tsu will continue to boldly go where no Tsu has gone before whether it be outta space or in Middle Earth…

Leave a Reply

