LOTRO: back again…

18 Apr

I actually got online in LOTRO this weekend.

Woot!

…for about 20 mins before my kids came and kicked me off the computer.

…oot!

I was itching to get back into LOTRO the whole weekend… was this due to a desire to get back into the newly updated LOTRO? Or due to my growing malaise with casual gaming?

I have been playing:

CoC for must be nearly a year and I can imagine I will keep playing but it is not exactly immersive, long army build times and even longer building upgrade and research times keep this interesting but not exactly relaxing or even a place to spend time having GAMING FUN.

Clash Royale, the new ‘card battler’ game has its moments but they are getting further and further between… and I find myself thinking of developing a good team in maybe 5 years time by simply collecting the free chests; which if you think about it is not exactly gameplay! Its advancement simply for the sake of advancements sake! I had a rare match which was actually fun the other day, where both players were attacking and counter attacking and I lost with his King’s castle on the brink of falling too!

And my main time sink and what has eaten up my morning gaming sessions has been MARVEL Contest of Champions; a basic beat-em-up with collecting mechanics mixed with social grouping and peer pressure and almost constant new rewards to work for individually and very cleverly collectively! I find there is always some kind of incentivation to grind out a new quest, level a hero or beat up the silly computer controlled opponent in yet another ‘versus’ match! And that’s not including the month long story quests for newer heroes and the daily contests needed to unlock upgrade items for your favourite heroes!  The graphics are great, the game runs very smoothly on the family ipad, the sound effects are even pretty atmospheric. Wanting to level Dr. Strange my favourite 4star hero is my main goal but getting Black Widow 4 silver stars and by far my heaviest hitter and Groot my first ever 4 star and others to their max, and being able to take on the game on heroic for even better prizes and maybe even one day getting a 5 star hero… oh dear can you see the addiction….

Oh and I love superheroes and have done so from when I was a kid, and my sons love the game too, my youngest even to the point of claiming to have HULK inside him! Which we constantly remind him he does NOT! My eldest loves to irritate me by using up hard earned in game gold or credits!

But… But… But… its getting tedious and I am starting to realise that it is just a pointless exercise in grinding up levels to get the same heroes (for the most part) stronger and stronger, whereas the core game of beat-em-up is pretty basic and the ‘vs’ mode is quite obviously an AI played version of player selected hero line up! Even this basic beat-em-up would be awesome if head to head with other players. Then no ‘got-to-get-em-all’ gimmick would be needed. Mind you then why am I not just playing Street Fighter?  Oh how I would love to have an arcade SF machine in the living room, exercise n gameplay every morning!

Oh how I digress…

Instead of the latter I am tempted to get back into the lukewarm water of LOTRO MMO gameplay! It has stories, the ME world, the long term grind, mediocre graphics (well on my wife’s non gaming PC I push it to high quality graphics for stationary screenshots!) old school MMO questing, old school MMO advancement…but it offers constant gaming FUN. ‘Offers’, you have to find it but when you find it is even sometimes fantastically immersive and surprisingly GREAT FUN!

I was really enjoying the Bingo weekly adventure, and have my one legged hobbit Opopa fan-fiction project to continue…

Tsukuld was levelling nicely in ROHAN, solo mounted combat crapness ignored, it was enjoyable.

Diverse alts dot the spectrum of levels  and character types throughout LOTRO for diversions sake.

The server consolidation and lag issues arrived and my interest waned markedly… my RW existence has become more time consuming, work is busy (too busy!), kids getting older and more demanding, wife, well is WIFE! Less weekend time to play, fewer long immersive sessions which drove the smaller weekday pre work sessions… I have long battled for an early evening gaming slot where I can log in the same time as my mainly European kin mates… rather than catching them mostly ‘out to lunch’/’working’ during my Argentinian early morning sessions.

I have always loved LOTRO, but I grew tired of the repetition, grew tired of the samey gameplay, grew tired of my RK’s combat rotations, and I found I was not finding FUN often enough,  I am back but I don’t know for how long I will last before I grow tired again!

I hope I find lots of FUN in LOTRO 18.1!

One Response to “LOTRO: back again…”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Update: Gaming draggin! | tsuhelm - June 1, 2016

    […] casual gaming it is then: As I described in my April post ‘LOTRO Back Again’  I am plodding onwards with CoC, mid […]

Leave a Reply

