LOTRO: Pulp Fiction; kitties going boom, goats admiring fancy plastic and auto levelling!

22 Nov

pulp-fiction-briefcase

KITTY KITTY BOOM BOOM (how I love the blog name)…reminded me of the new possibility of auto levelling. It is looking like it will be heading our way soon…

http://kittykittyboomboom.wordpress.com/2013/11/19/level-gifting-an-alternative-to-

Somehow the early morning coffee had found my ‘silly witty boom boom brain’ and I blasted out the following:

‘Looks great…but still requires someone to grind where as Mr. Billy No Mates buys LOTRO HD and wants to get cracking with warhorses but, on his 1st day, has no chance to befriend a friend , especially one willing to gift him the levels…now Billy has no mates cos he works a lot and has money in the bank so he whips out his fancy piece of plastic that he keeps in his pocket…and after admiring that for a minute, he gets his credit card out of his wallet and buys level cap..whoopy do…now he is running around at max level…day 1 in game…time to make friends and probably lots of enemies as he fails to park his warhorse well when popping into the local for a quick pint of HD ale (head destroying…it’s strong!) and when eventually invited to a small group fails miserably to target anything as he has yet to get to the bottom of the HUD and the settings let alone the skills…

But this market of Billies surely does exist and after a few days/weeks of play depending on abilities these wily goats will have found their niche within the game…or rambled off to buy some other game…or indeed may be sitting, alone admiring that fancy piece of plastic…mysteriously it really does make your face glow all golden like!’

I stick with the sentiment I expressed when I first tripped over this news in September: posted on Lotro players:

‘No-one likes to admit it but LOTRO is a bit on the heavy side when it comes to grinding (I like it – many don’t)
Now I want the game to continue (sic being successful)and if the introduction of such a radical item helped to sell the game to new players I can only but support it…
I have played LOTRO for 2nhalf years and my highest char is lv43 but with so much of the new content being for lv85+ ie mounted combat and Helm Deep…if this is LOTRO at its best maybe good that new players can cut straight to it?
And all the FORUMS actually seem to agree that you only start to ‘play’ your char at cap…
And if the new players then decide to explore LOTRO at the earlier levels even better…
Maybe turbine can sell them a special item so they can start at level1 and experience the ‘old’ content!’

Or another thought I had when I first arrived in Moria was that MORIA should be the MMO and LOTRO the extra…jumping straight into Moria would be a complex and even challenging gaming experience…

Final words: Wherever the player starts his journey that is LOTRO…hopefully they later want to explore and see what else there is to do! Hopefully they enjoy themselves and add to the LOTRO community. More players, more diversity is WINd WINd for TURBINE…keeping the game alive and powered up…

More Pulp: 

Ezekiel 25:17. “The path of the righteous man is beset on all sides by the iniquities of the selfish and the tyranny of the evil men. Blessed is he who, in the name of charity and goodwill, shepherds the weak through the valley of darkness, for he is truly his brother’s keeper, and the finder of lost children. And I will strike down upon thee with great vengeance and furious anger those who attempt to poison and destroy my brothers. And you will know my name is the Lord when I lay my vengeance upon thee!”

If you read between the lines it says, “Don’t mess with my fancy piece of plastic!”

Read more: 

LOTRO FORUM: https://www.lotro.com/forums/showthread.php?529879-Gift-of-Valar!-Raise-your-level-to-50-with-no-effort-at-all!

LOTRO PLAYERS: http://lotroplayers.mymiddleearth.com/2013/09/09/cmp-article-level-50-character-start-pack/

Leave a comment