LOTRO: TURBINE BLOWS AGAIN!

19 Jul

mobile turbine!

I was shocked into blogging again after discovering the horrible news from WB about TURBINE, further layoffs and yes they will be affecting LOTRO!

COMPANY STATEMENT: “Turbine is transitioning into a free-to-play, mobile development studio, and as a result we are eliminating some positions. The Lord of the Rings Online and Dungeons & Dragons Online games will continue to operate as they do now. Re-focusing and reducing the studio size was a difficult decision for the company, and we are grateful to all of the Turbine staff for their considerable contributions.”

LOTRO: ‘…will continue to operate as they do now.’ – But that is in the sense that it will continue as before which is pretty neglected and on the slow descending spiral to closure… if lucky the game will be able to eventually stay alive in maintenance mode but with it’s expensive IP that probably would not be permanent…

If I could I would advise them to stop jumping onto boats after they have sailed and just milk the old MMO market, they could even get lucky and find there is a resurgence in interest in oldschool grindy MMORPG’s at some point…

I may be inspired to pop back into LOTRO sooner rather than later, but my sons have reached an age where me playing games without them has become almost impossible, and me playing LOTRO with them fighting over the controls equally frustrating!

I wish all affected the best in the future and lets keep our fingers crossed that LOTRO limps on for many years to come!

free to blow

After the world wide success of ‘Pokémon Go!’  TURBINE will be jumping on the bandwagon with ‘Blow Blow Go!’

…And if successful I can even imagine the sequel already, ‘Suck Suck Come!’

Leave a comment